

Announcing the 2019-2020 Alabama Chapter Recognition Awards

Greetings ASSP friends and colleagues!

I hope this message finds you doing well and adjusting to your new normal.

Under normal circumstances, last month we would have held our special Chapter Awards luncheon to present service awards, honor our Safety Professional of the Year (SPY) recipients and celebrate our outstanding ASSP Chapter scholarship recipients.

Our plan moving forward is to hold that Chapter Awards luncheon later in the year when we can all safely join together.

With that said, we feel it best to not delay the announcements of our SPY award and scholarship recipients.

For complete biographies of our Scholarship and SPY Award recipients, and a list of our long-term Service Award recipients - 2020RecognitionAwards.pdf

Beginning with our scholarships, we recognize these outstanding students for their achievements and desire to pursue careers in the field of occupational health and safety. Each recipient will be receiving a \$ 1000 ASSP Chapter scholarship toward the fulfillment of their educations. Our recipients are:

From the University of Alabama Birmingham, **Tyler Young** from the Advanced Safety Engineering Masters Program, and **Erin Lindsey** from the School of Public Health.

From Jacksonville State University, Aidan Giddy.

From Auburn University School of Applied Engineering, Connor Lusk.

Our Safety Professional of the Year award recognizes outstanding contributions of individuals whose service to our ASSP Alabama Chapter and their profession. This year, we are delighted to announce two SPY award winners for 2020.

In the Construction category, the SPY goes to **Shawn Ankerich**! Shawn has served our Chapter as Chair of Programming.

In the General Industry/Academia category, the SPY goes to **Dr. Jerry Davis**. Dr. Davis has been a fixture in the safety community in Alabama for many years.

We congratulate our scholarship and SPY award winners for 2020 and look forward to honoring these fine folks in person at our upcoming awards luncheon, time and location to be announced. Please look for a separate announcement with more information about our award recipients for 2020.

To our Chapter members, stay the course as leaders for our profession!

Take care out there.

Matt Hollub, President

ASSP Alabama Chapter

Working together for a safer, stronger future









If you do not wish to receive these emails, please <u>click here</u> to unsubscribe from ASSP Alabama Chapter messages.